Udisha Srivastav: Cabinet Reshuffle 2021: 11 Women Added To The Council Of Ministers

The Cabinet reshuffle 2021 has recently taken place. The Cabinet is being termed as the youngest with an average age of the minister being 58. 

The priority lounged on the individuals of different castes as well as women’s representation in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s reshuffled Cabinet. Different from the earlier Cabinet representation and Council of Ministers which included five women, the reshuffled Cabinet and Council of Ministers have an aggregate of 11 women ministers.

Also Read: Towards A Gender-sensitive Post-pandemic World, The Global Urge

Nirmala Sitharaman

The Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman continues to hold additional charge of the Ministry of Corporate Affairs.

Hence, Nirmala Sitharaman holds two significant portfolios: the Finance Ministry and the Corporate Affairs Ministry in Narendra Modi’s government. Also, she is the initial full-time woman Finance Minister of the nation.  

Smriti Irani

Smriti Irani turned out to be a huge power in the 2019 General Elections.

Smriti Irani was serving as the Textiles Minister of India while also holding the Women and Child Development Ministry.

When the cabinet was reshuffled, Smriti Irani has now been relieved of the Ministry of Textile and will hold the Ministry of Women and Child Development (WCD).

Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti 

Sadhvi N Jyoti was appointed as the Minister of State for Food Processing Industries in 2014. Later, in 2019, she was appointed as Minister of State in the Ministry of Rural Development in Narendra Modi’s 2019 Cabinet.

Now, Jyoti holds the Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food, and Public Distribution, as well as the Ministry of Rural Development.

Renuka Singh Saruta

Renuka Singh Saruta is an Indian politician from the state of Chhattisgarh and a member of the BJP. Currently, She is the MoS of the Ministry of Tribal Affairs in the Second Modi cabinet. Renuka Singh Saruta is continuing unchanged by the renewal of the cabinet. 

Anupriya Patel

Anupriya Patel, the two-time Lok Sabha MP from Mirzapur district in Uttar Pradesh, has been assigned as the MoS in the Ministry of Commerce and Industry.

Anupriya Patel is the powerful leader of the Apna Dal Party. She has also engaged as an MoS in the Ministry of Health during PM Modi’s first cabinet.

Shobha Karandlaje

Shobha Karandlaje belongs to Udupi-Chikmagalur. Shobha Karandlaje is also a two-time MP in Lok sabha. Apart from working as a one-time MLA and one-time MLC, she was also holding portfolios such as Power, Rural Development, and Food and Civil Supplies in Karnataka’s ministry.

Karandlaje has been appointed as MoS in the Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers’ Welfare.

Darshana Jardosh

Darshana Jardosh is a three-time MP who belongs to Surat in Gujarat. She has been nominated as MoS in the Ministry of Textiles and Ministry of Railways.

Before the Lok Sabha election, Jardosh served as the Corporator of the Surat Municipal Corporation and moreover, she is a member of the Gujarat Social Welfare Board.

Also Read: When A Pandemic Knocks At Our Doorstep, We Need Women Leaders To Take The Call As They Fare Better, Data Suggests

Meenakshi Lekhi

Meenakshi Lekhi has served as a two-time Lok Sabha MP belonging to Delhi. The BJP leader Meenakshi Lekhi is also serving as a Supreme Court lawyer. She has also been a fellow of the New Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC), one of Delhi’s three civic bodies.

Now, Lekhi has been holding the charge as MoS in the Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) and the Ministry of Culture.

Annapurna Devi

A four-time MLA, Annapurna Devi is now Lok Sabha MP from Jharkhand. She has held portfolios such as Irrigation and Women and Child Welfare as a minister in the Jharkhand government.

Annapurna Devi has been assigned as MoS in the Ministry of Education.

Also Read: Meet The Inspiring Women Leaders Who Are Holding Their Crowns Gracefully In The Political Battlefield

Pratima Bhoumik

First-time BJP MP from the state Tripura, Pratima Bhoumik, has been appointed in the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment as a Minister of State (MoS).

Dr. Bharati Pawar

Bharati Pawar is a Lok Sabha MP belonging to Maharashtra. She has also worked as a member of the Nashik Zilla Parishad.

Currently, Bharati Pawar has been authorized as MoS in the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare.

Image courtesy: The New Indian Express

Udisha Srivastav is a Freelance Content Writer with Femsay.com